ICAS

Annual Liberty Award Dinner

Guest of Honour

Kurt M Campbell

Chairman and CEO The Asia Group LLC

Friday December 6 2013 6 30 PM – 9 30 PM

Kennedy Caucus Room United States Senate Capitol Hill Washington DC

presented



ICAS Liberty Foundation

seeks to promote the cause of humanity peace prosperity and security through cultural educational and research activities

icasinc.org



Dear Friend:

We are pleased to share with you that Chairman Kurt M Campbell has been nominated to receive the *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award 2013 for his "outstanding professional achievements, distinguished diplomatic service to the nation and the people and exemplary leadership" thus advancing great humanistic values; Life, Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness, and he will be honoured at the *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award Dinner 2013.

Dr Kurt M. Campbell is Chairman and CEO of The Asia Group, LLC, a strategic advisory and investment group specializing in the dynamic and fast-growing Asia Pacific region. Kurt is on the Boards of Standard Chartered Bank and MetLife Insurance. He also serves as Co-Chairman of the Board for the Center for a New American Security (CNAS). Kurt is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Aspen Strategy Group, the International Institute for Strategic Studies in London, and the Trilateral Commission. Dr. Campbell is a Member of the Advisory Board of the UC San Diego School of International Relations and Pacific Studies, a Member of the Advisory Board of the Association of Marshall Scholars, a senior advisor to the 100,000 Strong Foundation, and on the Board of Directors at the National Committee on United States-China Relations. In addition, Kurt is writing a book about his experiences in the Obama Administration working on Asia, tentatively entitled *The Pivot*.

From 2009 to 2013, Dr. Campbell served as Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs, where Kurt is widely credited as being a key architect of the "pivot to Asia." He was awarded the Secretary of State's Distinguished Service Award (2013) - the nation's highest diplomatic honor. Previously, he was the CEO and Co-Founder of CNAS and concurrently served as the director of the Aspen Strategy Group and chairman of the Editorial Board of the Washington Quarterly. Kurt was the Senior Vice President, director of the International Security Program, and Henry A. Kissinger Chair at the Center for Strategic and International Studies. He was also Associate Professor of public policy and international relations at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. Kurt is the author or coauthor of eight books on foreign policy and national security. Kurt received his B.A. from the University of California, San Diego, a Certificate in music and political philosophy from the University of Erevan in Soviet Armenia, and his Doctorate in International Relations from Brasenose College at Oxford University where he was a Distinguished Marshall Scholar.

Tonight, it is indeed our privilege to honour him and share this moment with our friends, colleagues, and esteemed guests gathered here at this hour in this historic and venerable chamber.

Thank you.

Synja P Kim President and Chairman ICAS Liberty Foundation Blue Bell Pennsylvania

December 6 2013



The Board of Founders and Officers ICAS Liberty Foundation

proudly

invites you

to

ICAS Liberty Lecture

Life Liberty and Pursuit of Happiness

by

The Honourable Kurt M Campbell A Distinguished American

Friday December 6 2013

Kennedy Caucus Room United States Senate Capitol Hill Washington DC

Host Committee

Chair

Synja P Kim

Honourary Chairs	Co-Chairs	ICAS Youth Fell	owship Winners
Becky N Dunlop	Il Hwan Kim	Peter S Baek	Michael D Cha
Corry Hong	Jack Kim	Bryant Chung	Juliana Haahs
Sonia Klein	Sang Joo Kim	Sean Halpin	Alexander Kim
Matthew D Lee	Don E Lee	Christine Kim	Elliot Kim
Margy Meyerson	Kevin Shinn	Jamie Kim	Jennifer Kim
	Choon K Yoo	Jodi Kim	Laura Kim
		Nicholas Kim	Paul S Koh
		David Lee	Janice Lee
		Joseph Lee	Jessica No
		Yuliana Noah	Jennifer Oh
		Andrew Park	William Park
		Joseph Suos	Andrew Yi
		Crystal Yoo	Hayoung Yoo
		Jeff Yoo	Timothy Yoo

ICAS Liberty Award Recipients

Grace Chung Becker	Kurt M Campbell	Britton Chance
Elaine L Chao	A Marisa Chun	Viet D Dinh
Becky N Dunlop	Tony P Hall	Mary Chung Hayashi
Christopher R Hill	Corry Hong	Charles Kartman
James A Kelly	Jeong H Kim	Wan J Kim
Lawrence R Klein	Harold Hongju Koh	Lucy H Koh
James T Laney	James A Leach	Chong Moon Lee
John Z Lee	Matthew D Lee	Tae Sik Lee
Zhaoxing Li	Martin Meyerson	Peter M Rhee
Jerome J Shestack	Kathleen Stephens	John H Tilelli Jr
Richard L Walker	Alfred P West	John C Yoo





ICAS Liberty Foundation
965 Clover Court Blue Bell Pennsylvania 19422

icasinc.org