ICAS

Annual Liberty Award Dinner

Guest of Honour

The Honourable Dennis C Blair

United States Navy Admiral Retired

Wednesday December 14 2016 6 30 PM – 9 30 PM

Cannon Caucus Room United States Congress Capitol Hill Washington DC

presented

by

ICAS Liberty Foundation

seeks to promote the cause of humanity liberty peace prosperity and security through cultural educational and research activities

icasinc.org



Dear Friend:

We are pleased to share with you that Admiral Dennis Blair has been nominated for Guest of Honour for this year's *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award Celebration Dinner slated on December 14, 2016.

As such, Dennis will receive *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award 2016 in recognition of his life-time contributions to promoting Liberty and American Values and he will be inducted into the Hall of *ICAS* Fellow in the capacity of *ICAS* Liberty Foundation Distinguished Fellow.

Admiral Dennis Blair, Chairman of the Board and CEO of Sasakawa USA, has a long experience in Japan and Asia issues. Dennis also serves as a member of the Energy Security Leadership Council, and he is on the boards of Freedom House, the National Bureau of Asian Research, the National Committee on US-China Relations and the Atlantic Council.

As Director of National Intelligence, from January 2009 to May 2010, Dennis led sixteen national intelligence agencies, managed a budget of \$50 billion and provided integrated intelligence support to the President, Congress, and operations in the field.

He was president and chief executive officer of the Institute for Defense Analyses (IDA), a federally funded research and development center, that supports the Department of Defense, the Department of Homeland Security, and the Intelligence Community, from 2003 to 2006.

During his 34-year Navy career, Dennis served on guided missile destroyers in both Atlantic and Pacific fleets and commanded the Kitty Hawk Battle Group. Ashore, he served as Director of the Joint Staff and held budget and policy positions on the National Security Council and several major Navy staffs. Prior to retiring from the Navy in 2002, Dennis served as Commander in Chief of the U.S. Pacific Command, the largest of the combatant commands.

He has served as a director of both public and private corporations, including Tyco International, EDO Corporation (now part of L-3, Inc), and Iridium LLC (now a public corporation).

Dennis resigned from all board positions when he re-entered government in 2009. He currently chairs an advisory committee for Lockheed Martin Space Systems.

Dennis co-chaired the Commission on the Theft of American Intellectual Property and published a series of recommendations in May 2013. He is the author of *Military Engagement: Influencing Armed Forces Worldwide to Support Democratic Transitions*, published in June 2013.

A graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, Dennis earned a master's degree in history and languages from Oxford University as a Rhodes scholar, and was a White House fellow at the Department of Housing and Urban Development. He has been awarded four Defense Distinguished Service medals, three National Intelligence Distinguished Service medals, and has received decorations from the governments of Japan, Thailand, Korea, Australia, the Philippines, and Taiwan.

Dennis was a featured speaker at the *ICAS* 2015 Summer Special Symposium where he addressed "Role of the United States in the Asia-Pacific Security Landscape in the 21st Century."

Thank you.

Synja P Kim President and Chairman ICAS Liberty Foundation Blue Bell Pennsylvania

The Board of Founders and Officers

ICAS Liberty Foundation

proudly

invites you

to

ICAS Liberty Lecture

Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness

by

The Honourable Dennis C Blair A Distinguished American

Wednesday December 14 2016

Cannon Caucus Room United States Congress Capitol Hill Washington DC

Smart Business Attire

Host Committee

Chair

Synja P Kim

Honourary Chairs

B B Bell Kurt M Campbell Elaine L Chao Becky N Dunlop Edwin J Feulner James T Laney Matthew D Lee Michelle K Lee Sung Hee Suh

Co-Chairs

Steve Chung Il Hwan Kim Sang Joo Kim Don E Lee Choon K Yoo

ICAS Youth Fellowship Winners

Peter S Baek Andrea Cho Juliana Haahs Olivia Heng Alexander Kim Elliot Kim Jennifer Kim Joey Kim Laura Kim Paul S Koh Ianice Lee Jessica No Jennifer Oh Jedidiah Park Joseph Suo Crystal Yoo Jeff Yoo

Michael D Cha Bryant Chung Sean Halpin Min Gu Jang Christina Kim Jamie Kim Jody Kim Nathaniel Kim Nicholas Kim David Lee Joseph Lee Yuliana Noah Andrew Park William Park Andrew Yi Hayoung Yoo Timothy Yoo

ICAS Liberty Award Recipients

Grace Chung Becker Kurt M Campbell A Marisa Chun Edwin J Feulner Christopher R Hill James A Kelly Lawrence R Klein James T Laney John Z Lee Tae Sik Lee Peter M Rhee Rhea Suh Richard L Walker B B Bell Britton Chance Viet D Dinh Tony P Hall Corry Hong Jeong H Kim Harold Hongju Koh James A Leach Matthew D Lee Zhaoxing Li Jerome J Shestack Sung Hee Suh Alfred P West Dennis C Blair Elaine L Chao Becky N Dunlop Mary Chung Hayashi Charles Kartman Wan J Kim Lucy H Koh Chong Moon Lee Michelle K Lee Martin Meyerson Kathleen Stephens John H Tilelli Jr John C Yoo



ICAS Liberty Foundation 965 Clover Court Blue Bell Pennsylvania 19422

icasinc.org