## **ICAS**

## **Annual Liberty Award Dinner**

Guest of Honour

### The Honourable Daniel R Russel

Vice President Asia Society Policy Institute Former US Assistant Secretary

Tuesday December 17 2019 6 30 PM – 9 30 PM

Capitol Hill Club Washington DC

presented

by

## ICAS Liberty Foundation

seeks to promote the cause of humanity liberty peace prosperity and security through cultural educational and research activities

icasinc.org



#### Dear Friend:

We are pleased to share with you that Daniel R Russel has been nominated for Guest of Honour for this year's *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award Celebration Dinner slated on December 17, 2019.

As such, Danny will receive *ICAS* Annual Liberty Award 2019 in recognition of his life-time contributions to promoting Liberty and American Values and he will be inducted into the Hall of *ICAS* Fellow in the in capacity of *ICAS* Liberty Foundation Distinguished Fellow.

Daniel Russel is Vice President for International Security and Diplomacy at the Asia Society Policy Institute (ASPI). Previously he served as a Diplomat in Residence and Senior Fellow with ASPI for a one year term. A career member of the Senior Foreign Service at the U.S. Department of State, Danny most recently served as the Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs. Prior to his appointment as Assistant Secretary on July 12, 2013, he served at the White House as Special Assistant to the President and National Security Council (NSC) Senior Director for Asian Affairs. During his tenure there, Danny helped formulate President Obama's strategic rebalance to the Asia Pacific region, including efforts to strengthen alliances, deepen U.S. engagement with multilateral organizations, and expand cooperation with emerging powers in the region.

Prior to joining the NSC in January of 2009, he served as Director of the Office of Japanese Affairs and had assignments as U.S. Consul General in Osaka-Kobe, Japan (2005-2008); Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy in The Hague, Netherlands (2002-2005); Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy in Nicosia, Cyprus (1999-2002); Chief of Staff to the Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, Ambassador Thomas R. Pickering (1997-99); Special Assistant to the Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs (1995-96); Political Section Unit Chief at U.S. Embassy Seoul, Republic of Korea (1992-95); Political Advisor to the Permanent Representative to the U.S. Mission to the United Nations, Ambassador Pickering (1989-92); Vice Consul in Osaka and Branch Office Manager in Nagoya, Japan (1987-89); and Assistant to the Ambassador to Japan, former Senate Majority Leader Mike Mansfield (1985-87).

In 1996, Danny was awarded the State Department's Una Chapman Cox Fellowship sabbatical and authored *America's Place in the World*, a book published by Georgetown University. Before joining the Foreign Service, he was manager for an international firm in New York City.

Danny was educated at Sarah Lawrence College and University College, University of London, UK.

He (<u>www.icasinc.org/bios/russeldr.html</u>) was a featured speaker at the ICAS Spring Symposium Prologue 2016 (<u>www.icasinc.org/2016/2016s/2016spro.html</u>) and the ICAS Fall Symposium 2018 (<u>www.icasinc.org/2018/2018fdrr.html</u>), respectively.

Thank you.

Synja P Kim President and Chairman ICAS Liberty Foundation Blue Bell Pennsylvania



# The Board of Founders and Officers ICAS Liberty Foundation

proudly

invites you

to

## ICAS Liberty Lecture

Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness

by

The Honourable Daniel R Russel A Distinguished American

Tuesday December 17 2019

Capitol Hill Club Washington DC

Smart Business Attire

Non-transferable

### Host Committee

### Chair

Synja P Kim

Honourary Chairs	Ambassador	ICAS Youth Fellowship Winners
------------------	------------	-------------------------------

Dennis C Blair		
Kurt M Campbell		
Edwin J Feulner		
John J Hamre		
Thomas C Hubbard		
James A Kelly		
James T Laney		

Steve Chung Il Hwan Kim Sang Joo Kim Don E Lee Choon K Yoo

Peter S Baek Bryant Chung Juliana Haahs Madeleine Heng Min Gu Jang Elliot Kim Jody Kim Nicholas Kim David Lee Jessica No Simeon Paek William Park Abigail Yang Hayoung Yoo Michael D Cha Sean Halpin Olivia Heng Alexander Kim Jamie Kim Nathanael Kim Paul S Koh Janice Lee Yuliana Noah Andrew Park Esther So Andrew Yi Jeff Yoo Andrea Cho Sean Halpin Isabelle Heng Leena Jang Christine Kim Jennifer Kim Laura Kim Joseph Lee Jennifer Oh Jedidiah Park Joseph Suo Crystal Yoo Timothy Yoo

### ICAS Liberty Award Recipients

=		
Grace Chung Becker		
Kurt M Campbell		
A Marisa Chun		
Edwin J Feulner		
Mary Chung Hayashi		
Thomas C Hubbard		
Jeong H Kim		
Harold Hongju Koh		
James A Leach		
Matthew D Lee		
Zhaoxing Li		
Sunny K Park		
Kathleen Stephens		
John H Tilelli Jr		
John C Yoo		

B B Bell Britton Chance Vie D Dinh Tony P Hall Christopher R Hill Charles Kartman Wan J Kim Lucy H Koh Chong Moon Lee Michelle K Lee Martin Meyerson Peter M Rhee Rhea Suh Richard L Walker

Dennis C Blair Elaine L Chao Becky N Dunlop John J Hamre Corry Hong Lawrence R Klein James T Laney John Z Lee Tae Sik Lee Michael H Park Jerome J Shestack Sung Hee Suh Alfred P West



ICAS Liberty Foundation
965 Clover Court Blue Bell Pennsylvania 19422

icasinc.org