ICAS Annual Liberty Award Dinner

December 21, 2000, 7: 00 PM - 9: 30 PM

Sheraton University City Hotel Palmaire Room

36th & Chestnut Streets, Philadelphia 19104

Guest of Honour

The Hon Harold Hongju Koh
Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labour
U S Department of State

Alfred P West, Jr
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
SEI Investments

moderatorSang Joo Kim (ICAS Senior Fellow)
7: 00 PMReception (music ensemble by ICAS String Quartet)
8: 00 PMDinner
8: 45 PMWelcome and Remarks
Synja P Kim (ICAS Fellow, President)
8: 50PM ICAS Liberty Award
The Hon Harold Hongju Koh
Alfred P West, Jr
9: 30PMHesung Chun Koh
Martin Meyerson
Harry Carl Schaub
9: 40PMAnnouncement of Youth Excellence Program
9: 45 PMAdjourn
Council for America My Country
Courtesy Travel, Inc.
Friendship Tennis Club
Optical Cable Corporation
Philadelphia Bar Association
International Human Rights Committee
International Law Committee
SEI Investments

November 7, 2000
Dear Friend:

We are pleased to share with you that The Hon HAROLD HONGJU KOH, Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labour, U S Department of State and ALFRED P WEST, JR., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, SEI Investments, will be honoured as Guest of Honour at the ICAS Annual Liberty Award Dinner on December 21, 2000 for their "brilliant diplomatic achievement and outstanding public service" and "brilliant achievement as a leading global provider of asset management products and investment technologies", respectively.

HAROLD HONGJU KOH was sworn in as Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor on November 13, 1998. A Korean- American, he was nominated by President Clinton on September 10, 1998 and confirmed by the Senate on October 21, 1998.

As Assistant Secretary, Koh advises Secretary Albright on U.S. policy on democracy, human rights, labor, the rule of law, and religious freedom. Assistant Secretary Koh formerly served as the Gerard C. and Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of International Law and Director of the Orville H. Schell, Jr. Center for International Human Rights at Yale Law School. Before beginning his professorship at Yale in 1985, Harold clerked for both Judge Malcolm Richard Wilkey of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the DC Circuit and Justice Harry A. Blackmun of the United States Supreme Court. He worked in private practice in Washington, DC and as an attorney at the Office of Legal Counsel at the U.S. Department of Justice.

Assistant Secretary Koh has authored more than 70 articles on international law, human rights, constitutional law, and international business transactions and trade, and is author or editor of several books on international relations, law and human rights. He is the winner of the 1991 Richard E. Neustadt Award from the American Political Science Association for the best book on the American Presidency and a 1996 Guggenheim Fellowship. Harold has received numerous honors for his human rights work, including an Honorary Doctor of Laws from City University of New York Law School, the Asian American Bar Association of New York's 1997 Outstanding Lawyer of the Year Award and recognition by American Lawyer magazine in 1997 as one of the country's 45 leading public sector lawyers under the age of 45.

Assistant Secretary Koh earned a B.A. from Harvard University in 1975, an Honours B.A. from Magdalen College, Oxford University in 1977, and a J.D. from Harvard Law School in 1980. He has been a Visiting Fellow and Lecturer at Magdalen and All Souls Colleges, Oxford University, and has taught at The Hague Academy of International Law, the University of Toronto, and the George Washington University National Law Center.

He is married to Mary-Christy Fisher, an attorney, and has two children, Emily and William.

ALFRED P WEST, JR is founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of SEI Investments, a global asset management company dedicated to helping institutions and individuals more effectively manage their investable assets.

West, who is a native Floridian, received his B.S. in Aerospace Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology, and an M.B.A. from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania in 1966. He also served as a teaching fellow while working toward a Ph.D. at the University of Pennsylvania.

In addition to his business responsibilities, Mr. West is an active member of the Graduate Executive Board of Wharton; the Chairman of the Board of the SEI Center for Advanced Studies in Management at Wharton; past Chairman of the National Advisory Board of Georgia Institute of Technology; a member of the Georgia Tech Foundation Board; a member of the Chairman's Advisory Committee and the Executive Committee of the World Affairs Council of Philadelphia; and chairman of the board of the Washington-based American Business Conference.

Of particular note is that it is his leadership which inaugurated the first annual SEI Pennsylvania Classic 2000 marking the return of the PGA TOUR to Philadelphia region after 20 years and starting a new tradition of the excellence for many years to come.

West is a recipient of the Joseph P. Wharton Award, and was named Legend CEO by the Technology Council of Philadelphia in 1995.

SEI helps, using innovative solutions, corporations, financial institutions, financial advisors, and affluent families create and manage wealth.

Thank you.


Sang Joo Kim / signed
Sr. Fellow & Executive Vice President ICAS


previous ICAS LIBERTY AWARD honouree:

Tony P Hall (U S Congressman, D-3rd Ohio), ICAS Fellow
Charles Kartman (Ambassador & Special Envoy to the Korean Peace Talks U S Department of State)
Jeong H Kim (President, Carrier Networks, Lucent Technologies)
Lawrence R Klein (Benjamin Franklin Professor of Economics Emeritus,
University of Pennsylvania; Nobel Laureate) Jerome J Shestack(Sr Partner, Wolf Block Schorr and Solis-Cohen LLP; former President, American Bar Association), ICAS Distinguished Fellow
Richard L Walker (James F Byrnes Professor Emeritus, University of South Carolina; former Ambassador to South Korea)
Curt Weldon# (U S Congressman, R-7th Pennsylvania) #1998 Annual Dinner speaker

ICAS Annual Liberty Award Dinner 2000 Committee:

Synja P Kim

Honourary Chair:
Britton Chance
Lawrence R Klein
Martin Meyerson
Jerome J Shestack

Ronald B Abrams
Enid H Adler
Young Wha Baek
Joon J Bang
Jerry Boucher
Soo Young Chang
Shaun Cho
Steve C Choi
Carl Guarino
Julia Han
Sandra Han
Yong Chon Hong
Chung Wha Iyengar
Tara Iyengar
Bang Nam Jeon
Young H Jeon
C K Kang
Michael M Kang
Chong Sang Kim
David H Kim
Il Hwan Kim
Il Yong Kim
Joung In Kim
Sang Joo Kim
Suk Young Kim
Yoo S Kim
Hyeon Yeong Kwak
John Lee
Young Bin Lee
Young Kwon Lee
James Moon
Mee Ok Moon
Dennis M O'Dowd
Paul S Oh
Sung Won Paek
In Ja Park
Steve Park
Xingyi Que
Choon Ki Yoo
Moon Kyung Yoo
Tae Hee Yoon
Grace Yun
(list in progress)


Council for America My Country
Courtesy Travel, Inc.
Friendship Tennis Club
Philadelphia Bar Association
International Human Rights Committee
International Law Committee
SEI Investments
(list in progress)

Institute for Corean-American Studies (aka ICAS) is a non-profit, non-partisan, and private educational and research organisation. It is non-agent of any government and solely supported by voluntary contributions. ICAS promotes pertinent relations and conducts appropriate activities to enhance cooperation and to pursue peace and prosperity. Further information about ICAS and some examples of the recent activities may be found on the ICAS website
(http://www.ICASinc.org). Thank you.

ICAS Fellow